INTERVIEW: Model Katarina Kovacevic

Jessica Stam, Daria Werbowy and Coco Rocha show Canada has knows how to bring the most glamorous models to the fashion industry and a new name to add to that list is Katarina Kovacevic.  Starting out at 16, she’s had her fair share of campaign work and has strutted her stuff down some serious runways (using er smile and charm to make it happen). Now preparing for a 3 month trip to Japan (with B&M Model Management) she will be running to a casting the very day she arrives. I had a chance to sit down and chat  with the model before she boarded her plane and was out of here.

Photographer: Wade Hudson Makeup: Linda Radan

1. How did you get into modeling?

I wish I had a more exciting answer for this one but I too have the classic, “scouted while shopping” story.

 2. What have you found as the biggest challenge in your career?

My biggest challenge has always been being open when talking about modeling.  I get really shy when I talk about it because it’s an industry based on looks and I don’t want other people to get the impression that I’m too self-involved.

 3. Most bizarre modeling project you’ve ever done?

When I was 17, I shot an in-store promotional video for Lululemon that was a parody of fragrance commercials.  The male model working opposite me had to whisper really bizarre cheese-ball lines to me like: “I’ll sweat for you like a snowman in a dessert in his car with the seat heaters on” all in one very husky voice.  It was hilarious.

 

4. Have you had a chance to participate in any of the Toronto fashion weeks?

I’m only 5’7, so runway has never been my niche.  However, I’ve managed to charm a few clients into letting me walk in their shows with my dazzling personality.

 5. You shot the latest Dragonette music video this summer which is out now to watch – how do you find working on these projects compared to modeling?

Because of the excruciatingly long hours, everyone on set gets really comfortable with one another by the end of the day and guards really come down.  We start acting like big kids, talking about bowel movements and burping among other grotesque things, and sharing really crazy and embarrassing stories with each other.

 6. How do you find the Toronto fashion scene?

The Toronto fashion scene is too tame.  I wish more people dressed like they didn’t give a fuck but I just hop down to Queen West when I’m in the mood to see that.

 7. Do you consider yourself a vintage/consignment shopper? What was the best find you came across?

Image cultureblues.com

The best find I came across was last week.  I found a Hugh Hefner-style long patterned smoking jacket.  I think I’m going to pair it with some pointy shoes and a walking stick and go as Scott Disick for Halloween.

 8. You’re going out to Japan for your latest contract – tell us more about that and how you are feeling overall.

I’m nervous because I’ll be away from home for 3 months for the first time but SOOO excited overall and really looking forward to it.  I’ll be documenting my journey there online coming to a website near you so be on the lookout! ❤

– Written my Mijana Veljkovic

Leave a comment